Skip to content

The Lynch Blog Begins

October 30, 2009

This past month has been both strange and exciting for me. Exciting because I began a new job that carries a business focus and a whole new set of challenges. Strange because, excluding Twitter updates, I haven’t gone more than a month without being published since I was 16-years-old.

Today, that changes with the launch of the The Lynch Blog. A general name to sum up a general goal: I will share my thoughts on everything that interests me, from business to technology to media to literature to life in San Francisco as a 20-something. This should put me into dangerous territory. If you subscribe to theories that the Web enables a culture of niches, that means a blog ought to be focused and specific.

But I believe, above everything, a blog should be liberating and free from constraints, something I couldn’t always say during my days in traditional media. A blog should also be innately social, connecting me and my thoughts with those of friends, colleagues, customers and everyone else I interact with in life — whether it’s virtually or in person. This space is for them as much as it is for me.

As some of you know, I recently began working at Socialtext, where I’m helping with our communications and marketing efforts. We provide companies with social technologies that make it easier for people to share information and expertise with each other. In bettering their connections internally, we believe it makes them stronger organizations that can serve all of us better (and faster) with their products and services.

I will improve this blog as soon as I have time (specifically, I plan to add more social features). But as someone who has an affinity for writing prose — some polished, some rushed and sloppy — I’d go crazy waiting another day.

So as the hackneyed expression goes, Hello, World.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 7:44 pm

    Congrats! I look forward to reading your stuff again 🙂

  2. October 30, 2009 9:07 pm

    To subscribe via RSS, you must go through wordpress URL, which is cglynch.wordpress.com/feed. When you do cglynch.com/feed, it for some reason doesn’t work. Put out a note to WordPress.com support.

  3. October 30, 2009 10:05 pm

    Welcome back!

  4. abbielundberg permalink
    November 1, 2009 7:13 pm

    Hey Chris, glad you’re back blogging. Looking forward to seeing what social media features you add to the blog.

  5. November 2, 2009 4:48 am

    RSS is working now off the RSS link on top right corner of page.

Leave a Reply

