Skip to content

A Week on Threadsy: First Impressions

November 12, 2009

I received my beta invite for Threadsy last week. Threadsy does something pretty cool: It pulls all your information from disparate services we love (mainly Twitter, Gmail and Facebook) and makes them viewable in one area. While I’m skeptical whether regular people want these types of all-in-one apps — part of me thinks people prefer tabs in a browser and can’t be bothered to change that paradigm — I’m impressed with Threadsy’s potential.

In a week’s time, I find it more useful for my day-to-day than I ever did FriendFeed, a social networking reader and sharing service that most people never heard of until Facebook paid $50 million to buy it.

Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 11.05.13 AM

Threadsy is closer to what Google Wave should have been. Wave is often referred to as adhering to an “e-mail metaphor,” but that references its design, since Gmail and e-mail in general are absent from the product (a huge strategic mistake). Threadsy actually embraces e-mail as a central part of the product, showing a much more pragmatic approach to mixing these social technologies with more traditional tools people still use (e-mail and IM).

Some upsides I found in first week:

  1. Mixing Twitter mentions with my Gmails. A mention of me on Twitter is a very specific action, much like an e-mail message addressed to me. Makes sense to have them in one spot.
  2. Integration with Gchat. I grew up with IM, and I love it. So there. And unlike Wave, I don’t want my IMs edited like a wiki.
  3. Easy ability to reply to a Gmail. Threadsy has a much more lightweight text editor than in regular Gmail, but I don’t need anything fancy for 90 percent of my e-mails.
  4. Retweet function and the ability to write tweets and Facebook status messages. (Simple, and in a million other products, but nice)
  5. Profiles for all your social stuff. Threadsy will automatically go through your e-mail, Twitter and Facebook and build profiles for your friends that show all the social networks they belong to and links to their presence on that particular site.

What I didn’t like/needs work:

  1. You can’t reply to a Facebook private message without launching a new page/tab in Facebook. I’m sure this isn’t Threadsy’s fault — more that Facebook wants you to use their horribly designed private message system.
  2. On the right sidebar that shows tweets and Facebook status messages, it’s noisy. Need a way to do specific lists like I would in Twitter itself now or groups in TweetDeck (though maybe Threadsy shouldn’t bother with this, which I’ll get to in a moment).
  3. With Facebook updates, it doesn’t respect the fact I’ve “removed” certain people from my stream. One of the best features Facebook added was the ability to opt out of someone’s updates. It allows you to avoid defriending someone, but keep them out of your way. Unfortunately, their updates still flow into Threadsy.
  4. Rich media integration needs work. I viewed a YouTube video within a Gmail in Threadsy, and it stretched awkwardly across the screen for a pretty lousy viewing experience.

As Robert Scoble (@scobleizer) pointed out in September, the type of thing Threadsy and other such start-ups are trying to do could become a billion dollar industry, but that’s only if people can be convinced they need such a service in their daily lives. I think the key to mainstream use will be pushing Facebook and Gmail features harder in the product than Twitter. Joe Web User spends more of his day in Facebook and Gmail. Fact. Moreover, Twitter’s power users would turn to Seesmic, TweetDeck and other such apps for their Twitter needs anyway. Threadsy is a more lightweight use case for Twitter, and I think it could be advantageous for its future to keep it that way.

/cgl

UPDATE: Want to get started on Threadsy? After reading my post, the Threadsy CEO asked me to share this link with my readers to help you get started.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 8:55 pm

    Thanks for this thoughtful writeup. You have hit on many of things that we are trying to do at Threadsy.

    We view Threadsy as the world’s first integrated communication client. We are integrating the services that people use everyday into a single cohesive experience.

    You’ve hit on the many of the features and tradeoffs that we made while building the product. It’s true that we can’t be everything to everyone so we are trying to address 90% of the usage of each of the component service and then add new parts of the experience that you can’t get anywhere else.

    There are two big things we are doing to integrate the experience that you didn’t mention:

    1. Search – We are the only place where you can search across all of your social media and email accounts. You no longer have to remember which service someone used to send you a message because we cover them all.

    2. The Threadsy Profile. When you open an email or tweet in threadsy, we aggregate and present all of the social media accounts of the person sending you the message including their resume from linked in, their photos from facebook and flickr, their status updates from twitter and even their profile pages on amazon and pandora. We give you a complete picture of the sender.

    Thanks again for trying us and providing your feedback!

    Best,

    -rg
    (Founder and CEO of Threadsy)

  2. November 13, 2009 1:30 am

    Great post. And thanks for the beta link- I will be trying it out. I just got Google Wave so I don’t really have that to compare Threadsy to (yet), but I did use FriendFeed quite a bit which ultimately didn’t make a big impression on me.

    One thing I will add is that Twitter lists has totally changed how I use it… so at this point I’m not super anxious to add another place to my daily web diet. But I am excited to try it out!

  3. Appozygooks permalink
    August 6, 2010 2:30 pm

    Houston, TX – The Houston Texans signed Andre Johnson to a two-year obligation extension on Thursday, a see to that, according to the Houston History, makes him the highest paid encyclopedic receiver in the NFL.

    Johnson, 29, led the NFL in receiving yards the mould two seasons and had five years and $35 million surviving on his existing contract.

    The Account reported the increase to be advantage $38.5 million, including $13 million guaranteed. On normal, Johnson will now order $10.5 million per year during the next seven seasons, not including performance incentives.

    “I in any case said I wanted to put on after single cooperate, and to be skilful to play recompense the Houston Texans for my in one piece trade is a tremendous honor,” Johnson said. “I always said I wanted to be portion of something memorable, and I knew that coming to a unique classification, things were going to be a baby raucous in the outset, and without delay I guess like things are enchanting that wheel after us.”

    The University of Miami-Florida product has dog-tired his entire seven-year m‚tier in Houston after the Texans selected him with the third overall pick in the 2003 NFL Draft.

    Johnson has recorded back-to-back 1,500-yard receiving seasons, including a 101-catch, 1,569-yard campaign last year. He also scored nine touchdowns in 2009 to up his fly mount up to to 42 TDs in 102 games.

    “Over the extent of the mould two years, nobody has played to the on the up that this under age cover shackles has as big that I’ve been round, other than one other cat,” said nut instructor Gary Kubiak. “What he’s been doing has been special, and there’s a lot more to come. So, that’s prospering to be exciting.”

    He has caught 587 passes for 7,948 yards as a remainder the passage of his career, proper two of the numerous club records he owns.

Trackbacks

  1. This Tabular Life « The Lynch Blog

Leave a Reply

